Debra Kay Duncan Named First Female Chair of LA84 Foundation Board of Directors

LOS ANGELES — The LA84 Foundation announced today that Debra Kay Duncan has been named Chair of the Board of Directors.  Duncan first joined the Board in October 2010 and will serve as Board Chair until June 30, 2022.

“I’m incredibly honored to be a part of this group that makes a difference and has changed so many lives. Sports is a great way to break the cycle for kids,” said Duncan.

Duncan joins an illustrious group of continuing Board Members. They include: Immediate Past Chair of the Board (until June 30, 2022), Frank M. Sanchez; LA84 Foundation President & CEO, Renata Simril; Chair Elect (until June 30, 2022), William O’Brien; Yvonne B. Burke; John Chavez; Phyllis Easton; Janet Evans; Jonathan Glaser; Robert Graziano; Mariann Harris; Stan Kasten; Maureen Kindel; Patrick McClenahan; Peter Ueberroth; Walter Ulloa; Gil Vasquez; and John Ziffren.

“I’d like to thank Frank Sanchez, who has left a good legacy; and I am excited to work with Bill, the entire Board, Renata, and the staff of the Foundation,” said Duncan.

“We are grateful for Frank’s support in providing opportunity for kids to be life ready through sport,” said Renata Simril, President & CEO of the LA84 Foundation. “We have deep appreciation for Frank’s distinguished service to the LA84 Foundation and the communities we serve. We are also thrilled Debra Kay Duncan is the new Chair of the Board of Directors,” said Simril. “She has a passion for the work we do, and brings an abundance of strategic thinking and energy.  We look forward to having her as a partner as we focus on our new strategic plan and the launch of new philanthropic initiatives.”

Duncan’s résumé illustrates a lifelong commitment to bettering kids’ lives, including as former executive director of the Dan Murphy Foundation. In addition, Duncan has served as Former Associate Vice President, Ticketing, XXIII Olympic Games in Los Angeles; Former Ticket Office Director for University of Southern California; Former Director of Ticket Operations for the Los Angeles Dodgers; Former Vice President of Finance for Olson Travelworld; Former General Manager of Ticketing at the XV Olympic Winter Games in Calgary; Former Associate Vice President of Ticketing at the XXIII Olympic Games in Los Angeles.  She is also a member of the Board of Directors for Kids In Sports and Together in Mission for the Los Angeles Archdiocese.

Past Board Chairs include:

  • Paul Ziffren – 1984-1988
  • David L. Wolper – 1988-1995
  • John C. Argue – 1995-2002
  • Peter V. Ueberroth – 2002-2007
  • Thomas E. Larkin, Jr. – 2007-2010
  • Robert V. Graziano – 2010-2014
  • Frank M. Sanchez – 2014-2019